User tools

Ministerial Forum

Big Red, Simpson Desert, Birdsville Aboriginal Forum, 2009. Photo: Rural Solutions

The Ministerial Forum was established under the Lake Eyre Basin Intergovernmental Agreement (the Agreement), signed by the Australian, Queensland and South Australian Governments in 2000 and joined by the Northern Territory Government in June 2004.

At 2017, the Ministerial Forum comprises:

  • the Australian Government Minister for Agriculture and Water Resources (Chair)
  • the Queensland Minister for Natural Resources and Mines
  • the South Australian Minister for Environment, Water and Natural Resources
  • the Northern Territory Minister for Land Resource Management.

The Ministerial Forum meets at least once per year. Its role is to implement the Lake Eyre Basin Intergovernmental Agreement by developing or adopting Policies and Strategies for the management of the Lake Eyre Basin Agreement Area, in accordance with the purpose, objectives and principles set out in the Agreement.

The Ministerial Forum may also adopt management plans prepared by the States/Territory in the Lake Eyre Basin if those plans are consistent with the Agreement and with the Policies developed or adopted by the Ministerial Forum.